We would like acknowledge and thank the following individuals for all of their

hard work and dedication to the 242 Ross Ferguson Squadron.


Without their efforts, we would not be able to offer such a

wonderful program for our cadets.




Captain Eugene Sidlar

Commanding Officer, Range Safety Officer & Public Affairs Officer


Lieutenant Doreen Marier

Deputy Commanding Officer, Standards Officer & Training Officer


Officer Cadet Mike Mahoney

Supply Officer & Biathlon Team Coach


Lieutenant Kathy Mora

Administration Officer & Summer Training OPI


Officer Cadet Dan Marier

Assistant Training Officer


Civilian Instructor Lisa Crook

Administration & Supply Assistant


Civilian Instructor Craig Skinner

Flying Scholarship Instructor


Sponsoring Committee

2019/20 Squadron Sponsoring Committee



Paula Wall and Amy Stinson



Vice Chair

Victor Alksnis



Sandy Stuckless



Nancy Larocque and Trish Baird


Donna Capobianco-Keller 

Christine Dutto

Civilian Volunteers

Victor Alksnis

Trish Baird

Donna Capobianco-Keller 

Geoff Coleman

Daniell Crook

Christine Dutto

Nancy Larocque

Sean McVeigh

Amy Stinson

Sandy Stuckless
Melissa Swain

Paula Wall

242 Ross Ferguson Squadron Erin Air Cadets awards night

COMMUNITY Mar 13, 2018 by Tristan Clark/Special to The Advocate Erin Advocate






Captain Gerry Giehler presents the Canadian Forces Decoration medal to Lt. Mike Bentley. - Tristan Clark/photo


A special awards ceremony took place at the Erin legion following the 242 Ross Ferguson Squadron Erin Air Cadets' regular meeting on Tuesday, March 6 evening to highlight a number of achievements.

The WestJet flight first prize winning family of the recent lasagna dinner were presented with their prize. Cadet rank promotions were then announced, followed by a cheque presentation for $3479.86 by the Legion Poppy Fund to support the squadron's many educational activities and to thank the squadron for their assistance with legion events. The evening's main presentation was made by Capt. Gerry Giehler to Lt. Mike Bentley, who joined the Canadian Forces in 1985. Born in Orangeville and raised in Shelburne, Lt. Bentley spent 17 years in uniform, 4 in the regular forces and 13 with the Cadet Instructors Cadre. He currently serves as deputy commanding officer with Erin's 242 Squadron. In the presence of many visiting military personnel, friends and family, he was awarded the Canadian Forces Decoration medal, bestowed to service members for long service and good conduct.


242 SSC

Air Cadet League of Canada

Ontario Provincial Committee

Board of Governors Recognizes: 

242 Ross Ferguson Squadron


On the Occasion of receiving the

Ad Astra Award

For the 2016/17 Air Cadet Year

There are 3 levels of awards for Sponsoring Committee Recognition. The bronze level is known as the Proficiency Award; the silver level is the Excellence Award (which our SSC earned in 2015/16) and the gold level known as the Ad Astra Award.  

Members of the 2016/17 Committee included: 

Chair Connie Ryan-Bennett

Acting Vice Chair Victor Alksnis

Secretary Lisa Crook

Treasurer Christine Dutto

Members - Geoffrey Coleman, Robert Newman, Amy Stinson, Jacqueline Moore, Dan Kovach


Registration continues on Jan. 7th, 2020 at the Erin Legion


12 Dundas Street East

P.O. Box 42
Erin, Ontario, N0B 1T0

Attendance Telephone: 519-833-2422


442 Legion:  http://www.erinlegion.ca/

OPC:  http://www.aircadetleague.on.ca/

© 2023


This web site is owned and operated on behalf of the Squadron's Sponsoring Committee. The intent of this unofficial website is to keep our Cadets and their families informed of Sqn's activities and events on a regular basis. This website is not intended to represent any other organization. This website is NOT intended to represent in any way opinions of the Department of National Defence, the Canadian Forces or the Sea/Army/Air Cadet League. Comments or questions about any components and/or content of this site must be addressed to the Sqn using the form on the Contact Us page.